Łazienki Królewskie - a showpiece of Warsaw
One of the most beautiful places on the capital's map, constituting a combination of extensive terrain, elaborate monuments, museum curiosities and the spirit of history, which - as some Varsovians claim - strolls alone along picturesque alleys, he admires the sprawling gardens or listens to Chopin recitals.
76 hectares of enlightenment
Warsaw is full of attractions - tourist, cultural, architectural. However, the Royal Łazienki is the city's greatest showcase and the best, the most spectacular proof of this, that Polish history is not only a kaleidoscope of war misfortunes or the tragedies of the occupation, but patchwork sewn with (unfortunately, by most forgotten or misplaced in the Middle Ages) moments of triumph. Historically, the most successful time ever (all) The Republic of Poland was the Enlightenment - the era of the victorious march of reason, progress and conscious culture. By the way - Thursday dinners, salon discussions and holiday rest for which Stanisław August went to his summer residence.
Despite the fact that Łazienki flourished during the reign of King Staś, their history dates back to the 7th century, when a strategic city was developing in the area occupied by today's Museum. Jazdów (today's Ujazdów) was to 1281 year the seat of the Dukes of Masovia. Over the centuries - and with the growing importance of Warsaw - Jazdów also became an important stop for the rulers coming to today's capital, and later - the asylum of Queen Bona, which (most likely) in the place of today's Belweder Palace she arranged her residence.
W 1624 King Zygmunt III Waza started the construction of the Ujazdowski Castle. The residence was in 1655 year plundered by Swedish invaders, and then - together with Zwierzyniec - taken over by Stanisław Herakliusz Lubomirski. This comprehensively educated erudite, strategist, Grand Crown Marshal and from 1674 year, the owner of the complex in Jazdów is also the original founder of the park and palace complex, so the famous Łazienki.
A famous architect was responsible for supervising the works, Tylman z Gameren. He designed it (located outside the park today) Hermitage and Lubomirski's asylum surrounded by greenery, called the Bathhouse (from Greek - source).
W 1720 Łazienki was leased by August II Sas, who wanted to create in this area - on the basis of the existing buildings - a huge park and palace complex. Few of these plans have been realized. Happily, Stanisław August Poniatowski became interested in the future Łazienki, who decided to organize in Ujazdów - with the help of architect Dominik Merlini - his summer residence.
As planned, The bathhouse was to turn into a sophisticated one, suburban palace - designed and equipped by the greatest artists. There is also a place in the complex for - inter alia - the White House, The Myślewicki Palace or the Old Orangery with the Stanisławowski Theater open to the public.
Work on the expansion of Łazienki lasted until the abdication of Stanisław August. After the fall of the Republic of Poland , so after the third partition of Poland - the complex was gradually fragmented, devastated and stolen. After the ruler's death - as a result of many perturbations - Łazienki was taken over by Maria Teresa Tyszkiewiczowa, who sold this unique ensemble to Tsar Alexander I..
Even though the formal ruler of the Kingdom of Poland never lived in Łazienki, his brother - Grand Duke Konstantin - decided to make the nearby Belweder Palace his residence. In this way Łazienki and Belweder, as befits tsarist lands, were still being renewed, improved and refined.
After the Great War, Łazienki was recognized - next to the Belweder Palace and the Royal Castle - as one of the most representative Polish buildings. So invested in the development of the complex, in which the famous Chopin monument was erected. Unfortunately, the ensuing Nazi occupation led the complex to a catastrophic ruin. Although some of the historical collections have been secretly saved, the most valuable object of the complex - the Palace on the Water - completely burned down, which was destroyed on purpose, as a punishment for starting an uprising.
After the war, Łazienki was carefully reconstructed, thanks to which the complex slowly regained its former glory. Despite numerous changes in the positions responsible for the renovation of the complex (and hence - many misunderstandings), it was possible to rebuild the Palace on the Water or the Chopin monument destroyed during the bombings. Also extending to 74 hectares of green areas. Finally, 1 April 1995 year - in accordance with the decision of the then Minister of Culture and Art - Łazienki became sovereign. It was the official beginning of the new life of the Palace and Garden Complex, from 2011 known as the Royal Łazienki Museum in Warsaw.
On the trail of history
Łazienki Królewskie is a must-see on the route of every tourist. It is also a perfect place for Sunday, summer walk. It's here, in an exceptionally spectacular way, można przyjrzeć się wciąż żywej historii i odwiedzić miejsca w których rozgrywały się najbardziej kluczowe wydarzenia w dziejach Polski.
In the very heart of Łazienki, there is the famous Palace on the Isle - Stanisław's former retreat, an architectural gem referring to the classicist trend. The interior of the palace has been reconstructed, sculptures and paintings - carefully collected by the king, They were deliberately destroyed during the war occupation.
Less spectacular (by design anyway), but the White House is very charming - located outside the palace, designed and built from scratch by Dominik Merlini, decades ago, the official seat of the "staff" responsible for the revitalization of Łazienki. There is a beautiful sundial in front of the cottage, and inside the building - collections of graphics are presented.
Another one, an obligatory point on the route through Łazienki Warszawskie is the Myślewicki Palace - considered one of the most beautiful examples of early classicism in the Polish edition. History lovers will also like the Cadet School - a former kitchen located on the eastern side of the Palace on the Isle, in which Piotr Wysocki on a November night 1830 eye called his subordinates to fight the invader.
Each pavilion (Egyptian temple, Temple of Diana, The Hermitage or the New Orangery) making up the entire Łazienki Park is worth attention. A walk around the three gardens of the Łazienki Park is also highly recommended (Królewskie, Belwederski and Modernist). When walking along the green alleys of the complex, we will forget about it, that we are in the center of a big city. And Warsaw itself will become a bit less industrial, cosmopolitan and concrete.